Support

Generic selectors
Exact matches only
Search in title
Search in content
Post Type Selectors

Shared Files

Estimated reading time: 1 min

You can use shared files to upload, edit, manage, and remove files from your website. Files can be shared and displayed to the public, members, or leadership. Click “Shared Files” under Online Media/Files inside Congregate Admin to access the file management interfaces and options page.

Illegal File and Folder Characters
Your files will be viewed by numerous users who use a wide variety of operating systems and devices. It is essential to avoid common illegal filename and directory characters. These include the following:
# % & { } \ < > * ? / $ ! ‘ ” : @ + ` | = [space]

Public Shared Files

Public shared files are managed via the public shared files file manager and can be displayed on any public page on your website. Users can copy links to files and share files with others.

Uploading and Managing Public Files

Please refer to the file manager documentation to learn how to use the file manager.

Member Shared Files

Member shared files are managed via the member shared files file manager and can be displayed on any member page on your website. Only members can view and have access to the page/files.

Uploading and Managing Member Files

Please refer to the file manager documentation to learn how to use the file manager.

Leadership Shared Files

Leadership shared files are managed via the leadership shared files file manager and can be displayed on any member page on your website. Only user accounts with leadership shared files permission can view and have access to the page/files.

Uploading and Managing Leadership Files

Please refer to the file manager documentation to learn how to use the file manager.

Shared Files Options

Selecting Display Pages

Select the page(s) on which to display your public, member, and/or leadership shared files. If you do not wish to display or share files, simply select “None.”

Require Login to View Protected Files

Protected files are not listed publicly and only users who have an exact URL/path to a protected file can access it. However, if you wish to require users who have the URL/path to still login before gaining access to the file, enable this option. (Note: this may cause embedded member files to no longer work as direct access to the files is not available when this option is enabled.)

Was this documentation helpful?
No